2018 Lord’s Taverners Junior Wheelchair Rugby Championship round-up

Ospreys were crowned 2018 Lord’s Taverners Junior Wheelchair Rugby champions after an impressive display in Stoke Mandeville at the weekend.

The annual tournament was first won by Saracens back in 2015 and Exeter Hawks won the 2016 and 2017 editions, but it was the youngsters from South Wales who picked up their first national title after winning all five of their games.

Five teams entered the 2018 spectacle with Team Solent Sharks, Bristol Bears and Saracens completing the line up alongside Hawks and Ospreys. All teams played each other once before the top four competed in the Shield and Cup finals.

Ospreys won all of their games in the round robin, including a 14-11 win over Hawks before beating them again in the final. Hawks won three of their five games, only losing to Ospreys twice on their way to second place. Bristol ended the day in third and took home the Shield with a narrow 13-12 win over Team Solent Sharks who had already beaten them 16-8 in the earlier match up.

Sharks coach Primrose Kavanagh said that the tournament is massively important to her young side: “It gives them something to go and show their skills to their parents. It is a positive environment with everyone clapping and cheering them on and they can get to know other people and make friends which makes it a really good event.”

Here is the full set of results:

Ospreys 15 Bristol Cubs 8
Ospreys 18 Solent Sharks 5
Exeter Hawks 22 Saracens 4
Bristol Cubs 14 Saracens 13
Exeter Hawks 11 Ospreys 14
Saracens 9 Solent Sharks 12
Exeter Hawks 15 Bristol Cubs 5
Exeter Hawks 17 Solent Sharks 5
Ospreys 19 Saracens 12
Bristol Cubs 8 Solent Sharks 16
Shield Final
Solent Sharks 12 Bristol Cubs 13
Cup Final
Ospreys 11 Exeter Hawks 10