Credit: Wayne Jordan

Awards & Recognition

GB Wheelchair Rugby is delighted to announce the launch of the GBWR National Awards for long-standing exceptional achievement to wheelchair rugby. The policy, nomination and selection process for the awards has been carefully worked through and consulted on over the last 2 years, and we would like to thank all of those who have been involved for their contribution. These awards represent the highest pinnacle of achievement and reflect the value we as a sport place on the commitment those recognised have made to our sport. The details of the awards and the nomination and selection process can be found here:

GBWR Awards and Recognition Policy

Nomination for a GBWR National Award

In reading the documents you will see that there are 3 separate categories of award:

  • Honorary Life Member
  • Outstanding Service to Sport
  • GBWR Hall of Fame

Although all are different, all still require potential recipients to have made a very special and exceptional contribution to our sport. Full guidance is provided in the papers about the criteria on which nominees will be judged.

Nominations can be received at any time during the year but there will only be one selection panel each year and this will take place in October, with those successful at being selected for an award announced on 1 January the following year. The first of the panels will be in October this year with the names of those who are selected announced on the GBWR website on 1 January 2021.

Finally, it is understood that we are fortunate to have many individuals who contribute a huge amount to the sport every year and we are now looking at how we recognise this annual achievement which will form the next phase of our recognition process.